David Mulroney

David Mulroney

David Mulroney

Attaché de recherche distingué à l’École Munk des affaires internationales de l’Université de Toronto

David Mulroney est attaché de recherche distingué à l’École Munk des affaires internationales de l’Université de Toronto, où il écrit à propos des relations du Canada avec la Chine et des enseignements tirés de notre récent engagement en Afghanistan.

Il est revenu à Toronto après avoir été ambassadeur du Canada auprès de la République populaire de Chine de 2009 à 2012.

Avant de prendre ses fonctions à Beijing, M. Mulroney était en poste au Bureau du Conseil privé à Ottawa comme sous-ministre du Groupe de travail sur l’Afghanistan, chargé de superviser la coordination interministérielle de tous les aspects de l’engagement du Canada en Afghanistan. Il a aussi été secrétaire du Groupe d’experts indépendants sur le rôle futur du Canada en Afghanistan (« Groupe Manley »).

M. Mulroney a également été sous-ministre délégué des Affaires étrangères et, simultanément, représentant personnel du Premier ministre au Sommet du G8. Immédiatement avant cela, il était conseiller de la politique étrangère et de la défense auprès du Premier ministre du Canada.

Agent du Service extérieur de carrière, M. Mulroney a occupé une série de postes à responsabilité au ministère des Affaires étrangères à Ottawa, notamment, pendant 4 ans, celui de haut fonctionnaire du Canada à la Coopération économique pour l’Asie-Pacifique (APEC). Il a également eu des affectations outre-mer à Taipei, Kuala Lumpur, Shanghai et Séoul. De 1995 à 1998, il était directeur général du Conseil commercial Canada-Chine.

M. Mulroney est diplômé de l’Université de St. Michael’s College (USMC) à l’Université de Toronto. Il a suivi une formation à temps plein en mandarin à l’École de langues des Forces canadiennes à Ottawa.

Né à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, il est marié et père de trois enfants. Il est membre honoraire de l’Université de St. Michael’s College et médaillé du Jubilé de la Reine.

Use 'AND' or 'OR' to refine your search.

Use quotes " " to get exact matches or remove them to get more results.

David Mulroney

David Mulroney

David Mulroney

Distinguished Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto

David Mulroney is a Distinguished Senior Fellow at the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs, where he is writing about Canada’s relationship with China and lessons learned from our recent engagement in Afghanistan.

Before his return to Toronto, he served as Ambassador of Canada to the People’s Republic of China from 2009 to 2012.

Prior to his appointment to Beijing, Mr. Mulroney was assigned to the Privy Council Office in Ottawa as the Deputy Minister responsible for the Afghanistan Task Force, overseeing inter-departmental coordination of all aspects of Canada's engagement in Afghanistan. He also served as Secretary to the Independent Panel on Canada's Future Role in Afghanistan (“the Manley Panel").

Mr. Mulroney's other assignments included serving as Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and, concurrently, as the Prime Minister's Personal Representative to the G8 Summit. Immediately prior to that, he served as Foreign and Defence Policy Advisor to the Prime Minister of Canada.

A career Foreign Service officer, Mr. Mulroney had a series of senior appointments in the Foreign Affairs Department in Ottawa, including 4 years as Canada's Senior Official for Asia Pacific Cooperation (APEC). He served on overseas assignments in Taipei, Kuala Lumpur, Shanghai and Seoul. From 1995 to 1998 he was Executive Director of the Canada-China Business Council.

Mr. Mulroney graduated from Saint Michael’s College in the University of Toronto. He participated in full time Mandarin training at the Canadian Forces Language School in Ottawa.

Mr. Mulroney, who was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia, is married and has three children. He is an Honorary Fellow of St. Michael’s College and a recipient of the Queen’s Jubilee medal.

Use 'AND' or 'OR' to refine your search.

Use quotes " " to get exact matches or remove them to get more results.