Bourse émérite John H. McArthur

La Bourse émérite John H. McArthur est une initiative établie par la Fondation de l'Asie Pacifique du Canada (la Fondation) pour rendre honneur à John H. McArthur, Canadien exemplaire, professeur en études commerciales de renommée mondiale et ancien président du conseil d'administration de la Fondation. Originaire de Burnaby en Colombie-Britannique, M. McArthur est Officier de l'Ordre du Canada et doyen émérite de l'École des études commerciales de Harvard.
Soutenue par la création d'un fonds de 2 millions de dollars, la Bourse émérite John H. McArthur est décernée à un leader accompli du monde des affaires ou de la sphère universitaire qui effectuera des recherches sur des politiques applicables et rehaussera les travaux de la Fondation.


Soutenez la Bourse émérite John H. McArthur


Le récipiendaire de cette bourse émérite apportera une contribution importante à la Fondation et au développement mondial au moyen de recherches axées sur les politiques, de conférences et d’ateliers, de publications d’éditoriaux et de réseautage auprès d’experts et de spécialistes des relations entre le Canada et l’Asie.

En consultation avec le Comité de sélection de la Bourse émérite John H. McArthur et le conseil d’administration de la Fondation, la direction de la Fondation sélectionnera les candidats retenus. Nous vous invitons à nous appuyer dans cette initiative historique commémorant l’héritage remarquable de John H. McArthur.

Pour plus de renseignements ou contribuer à cette initiative, veuillez communiquer avec Mme Lauren Chang, directrice du développement, au 604-630-1529 ou à lauren.chang@asiapacific.ca.

Les dons en provenance des États-Unis sont les bienvenus. Si vous avez besoin d’un reçu aux fins du fisc américain, veuillez communiquer avec Lauren Chang pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

À propos de John H. McArthur

Canadien exceptionnel et originaire de Burnaby en Colombie-Britannique, John H. McArthur a été doyen de l’École des études commerciales de Harvard de 1980 à 1995, principal conseiller du président de la Banque mondiale de 1995 à 2005 et membre fondateur de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada. À l’heure actuelle, il est doyen émérite de l’École des études commerciales de Harvard. M. McArthur siège à de nombreux conseils d’administration, dont ceux du Centre médical de l’Université Duke, du conglomérat KOC Holdings A.S. et de la Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company. Il a présidé le conseil d’administration de la Fondation de 2006 à 2015.

M. McArthur a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce forestier de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 1957. Poursuivant ses études à Harvard, il y a obtenu une M.B.A. en 1959 et un doctorat en administration des affaires en 1963. En 2013, il a été investi Officier de l’Ordre du Canada, l’une des plus prestigieuses distinctions honorifiques civiles de notre pays. Au cours de sa carrière, M. McArthur a reçu des doctorats honorifiques de six établissements différents, en plus de nombreux prix, notamment le « Canadian Business Leadership Award » (Prix canadien du leadership en affaires), décerné par le regroupement des Harvard Clubs of Canada, et le « Lifetime Achievement Award » (Prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations), de la National Association of Corporate Directors en 2010.

L’établissement de la Bourse émérite John H. McArthur cette année découle du service et du dévouement exceptionnels de ce dernier à l’égard de la Fondation. Fervent partisan des groupes de collaboration, il a noué des relations avec des entreprises, des gouvernements et des universités pendant son mandat de président du conseil d’administration, pour renforcer la position de la Fondation, à titre de leader éclairé et d’agent moteur des relations canado-asiatiques en évolution constante.

Bourse émérite John H. McArthur

Comité consultatif honoraire

Coprésidents

  • Dominic Barton
  • Carol A. Lee
  • Hon. Kevin G. Lynch, P.C., O.C

Membres

  • Christine Day
  • Darren Entwistle
  • François de Gaspé Beaubien
  • James D. Fleck, C.C.
  • Paul J. Hill
  • John K.F. Irving
  • Vikram Khurana
  • Michael M. Koerner, C.M.
  • Eva Lee Kwok
  • Robert H. Lee, C.M.
  • Donald Lindsay
  • Roger L. Martin
  • Lorraine Mitchelmore
  • Heather Munroe-Blum, O.C.
  • Robert Pace
  • J. Robert S. Prichard, O.C.
  • Hon. John D. Reynolds, P.C.
  • Hartley T. Richardson, O.C.
  • Michael Sabia
  • Reza R. Satchu
  • Gerald W. Schwartz, O.C.
  • Hon. Paul Tellier, P.C., C.C.

Membres internationaux

  • Victor Chu
  • Kenneth Courtis
  • Anand Mahindra
  • Sir Martin Sorrell
  • Sir James D. Wolfensohn, KBE, AO

Use 'AND' or 'OR' to refine your search.

Use quotes " " to get exact matches or remove them to get more results.

The John H. McArthur Distinguished Fellowship

The John H. McArthur Distinguished Fellowship is an initiative established by the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada to honour John H. McArthur, an exemplary Canadian, world-renowned business educator and former Chair of the APF Canada Board of Directors. Dr. McArthur, a native of Burnaby, British Columbia, is an Officer of the Order of Canada and Dean Emeritus at Harvard Business School.

Supported by the creation of a $2-million fund and a growing number of generous donors, the Distinguished Fellowship is awarded to an accomplished Asia Pacific thought leader from business or academia who will conduct actionable research and elevate the work of the Foundation.


Support the John H. McArthur Distinguished Fellowship


The recipient of the Distinguished Fellowship will make a significant contribution to APF Canada and global development through: policy-focused research, speaking engagements and workshops, published opinion pieces, and networking among experts and specialists on Canada-Asia relations.

The APF Canada executive in consultation with the John H. McArthur Distinguished Fellowship Selection Committee and the APF Canada Board will determine the selection of successful candidates. We invite you to support us in this historic initiative commemorating the remarkable legacy of John H. McArthur.

For more information or to contribute to this endeavour, please contact Lauren Chang, Development Manager, at 604-630-1529 or lauren.chang@asiapacific.ca.

We welcome donations from the United States. Should you require an American Charitable Tax Receipt, please contact Lauren Chang for further details.

About John H. McArthur

A uniquely accomplished Canadian and a native of Burnaby, British Columbia, John H. McArthur was the Dean of Harvard Business School from 1980 through 1995, Senior Advisor to the President of the World Bank from 1995 to 2005, a founding Board Member of the Canada Development Investment Corporation, and is currently Dean Emeritus at Harvard Business School. He sits on numerous boards, including Duke University Medical Center, KOC Holdings A.S. and Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company. Dr. McArthur was Chair of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada from 2006-2015.

Dr. McArthur earned a bachelor of commerce degree in forestry from the University of British Columbia in 1957. He continued his studies at Harvard, where he completed an MBA in 1959 and later earned a doctorate in business administration in 1963. In 2013 he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, one of the country's highest civilian orders. Over his career, Dr. McArthur has been awarded honorary doctorates from six different institutions in addition to multiple awards, most notably the Canadian Business Leadership Award, from the combined Harvard Clubs of Canada, and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Corporate Directors in 2010.

Dr. McArthur's outstanding service and dedication to APF Canada prompted the establishment this year of the John H. McArthur Distinguished Fellowship. An avid proponent of collaborative communities, during his tenure as Chair, Dr. McArthur reached out to businesses, governments and academia to solidify the Foundation's position as a thought leader and agent of action in Canada's evolving relations with Asia.

 

Use 'AND' or 'OR' to refine your search.

Use quotes " " to get exact matches or remove them to get more results.