Cargo container stack

Fiche d’information sur l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP)

Qu’est-ce que le PTPGP ?

Le PTPGP est un accord de libre-échange (ALE) qui regroupe principalement des pays de la région indo-pacifique. Signé en mars 2018, il compte 11 membres : le Canada, l’Australie, le Brunéi, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam. Ensemble, ces économies représentent plus de 15 % du PIB mondial. Le Canada présidera en 2024 la Commission du PTPGP, l’organe décisionnel du bloc.

En juillet 2023, le Royaume-Uni est devenu le premier pays non fondateur à adhérer au PTPGP. Cette décision s’inscrit dans le cadre des efforts déployés par le Royaume-Uni pour soutenir son économie et établir des liens post-Brexit avec « un groupe dynamique et croissant d’économies du Pacifique », selon le premier ministre britannique Rishi Sunak.[i] L’accord commercial entrera en vigueur pour le Royaume-Uni, ses dépendances de la Couronne et ses territoires d’outre-mer, une fois que tous les États membres actuels auront achevé leurs processus de ratification respectifs, ce qui aura probablement lieu au cours du second semestre 2024.

Les États-Unis devaient initialement faire partie du PTPGP avant que l’administration Trump ne retire la signature américaine en 2017.

Que couvre le PTPGP ?

Le PTPGP est un accord commercial « à normes élevées » qui vise à faciliter la coopération économique entre ses parties.[ii] Il couvre pratiquement tous les aspects de l’économie, y compris les investissements et le commerce des biens et des services. L’objectif premier de l’accord commercial est de créer des normes cohérentes entre tous les signataires, notamment en ce qui concerne les marchés publics, les réglementations douanières, la propriété intellectuelle, les règles d’origine, les droits des travailleurs, la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre, la protection de l’environnement et le commerce inclusif. En participant au PTPGP, le Canada contribue à faire en sorte que les Canadiens soient en mesure de soutenir efficacement la concurrence dans la région indo-pacifique et de faire des affaires dans un environnement stable et transparent.

Qu’est-ce que la Commission du PTPGP ?

La Commission est l’organe de décision du PTPGP. Elle est composée de représentants gouvernementaux de chaque économie membre et est présidée successivement par chaque partie. La Commission est notamment chargée d’examiner toute proposition, tout amendement ou toute modification de l’accord et d’étudier les demandes d’adhésion des pays non-signataires. Le Canada présidera la huitième réunion de la Commission du PTPGP en 2024.

Quelles sont les responsabilités et les priorités du Canada en tant que président ?

Les principales fonctions de la présidence sont d’accueillir la réunion de la Commission, de fournir un soutien administratif et d’informer tous les organismes concernés des décisions prises par la Commission. En 2024, Ottawa sera également chargé d’accueillir le nouveau membre du pacte, le Royaume-Uni, et de traiter la question délicate des demandes d’adhésion de la Chine et de Taïwan[iii] au PTPGP.  

Au moment de la publication, un groupe de travail sur l’adhésion – l’organe chargé de négocier la demande d’adhésion d’une économie candidate – n’avait été créé ni pour la Chine ni pour Taïwan. Toutefois, les deux candidats ont fait savoir qu’ils souhaitaient entamer le processus de négociation.[iv]

Par ailleurs, la ministre canadienne du Commerce, Mary Ng, a défini comme priorités pour l’année le respect des valeurs canadiennes, l’expansion de l’influence géopolitique du Canada et la garantie que le PTPGP atteindra son plein poten.[v] Mme Ng espère également soutenir les petites entreprises, les entreprises autochtones et les entreprises dirigées par des femmes pendant le mandat du Canada à la présidence.[vi]

L’année précédente, lors de la septième réunion de la Commission du PTPGP organisée par la Nouvelle-Zélande, la Commission a salué l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord commercial pour le Chili et le Brunéi, et a signé le protocole d’adhésion du Royaume-Uni.

Quel est le processus d’adhésion au PTPGP ?

Demande d’adhésion Pour adhérer au PTPGP, les candidats doivent notifier officiellement à la Nouvelle-Zélande, dépositaire du traité, leur demande d’ouverture de négociations d’adhésion. Le candidat est également encouragé à informer tous les autres signataires du PTPGP officieusement. La Commission du PTPGP entamera le processus d’adhésion « dans un délai raisonnable » après l’acceptation de la demande.[vii]

Négociation La Commission mettra en place un groupe de travail sur l’adhésion composé de représentants des gouvernements de chaque partie. L’économie candidate doit démontrer au groupe de travail qu’elle est capable de se conformer aux dispositions du PTPGP.  

Elle doit notamment identifier les modifications qu’elle doit apporter à ses lois et réglementations nationales pour assurer la conformité. Une fois les négociations terminées, le groupe de travail soumettra à la Commission un rapport décrivant les conditions d’adhésion du candidat.

Approbation La Commission déterminera à l’unanimité d’approuver ou non les termes et conditions du candidat. En cas d’approbation, le candidat disposera de six mois pour mener à bien les réformes nécessaires pour se conformer à l’accord commercial et signer officiellement le PTPGP avec le dépositaire, la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Ratification: Une fois que l’économie candidate aura signé le PTPGP, chaque État membre devra procéder à ses propres processus de ratification avant que l’accord commercial n’entre en vigueur pour le candidat.

Quel a été le processus d’adhésion du Royaume-Uni ?

  • Février 2021: Le Royaume-Uni soumet sa demande d’adhésion.
  • Juin 2021 : La Commission du PTPGP entame le processus d’adhésion.  
  • Septembre 2021 : Le groupe de travail sur l’adhésion du Royaume-Uni se réunit pour la première fois. Le Japon assure la présidence du groupe, tandis que l’Australie et Singapour en assurent la vice-présidence.
  • Février 2022 : Le groupe de travail conclut que le Royaume-Uni peut se conformer à la plupart des obligations du PTPGP, mais que certains domaines doivent être clarifiés ; les négociations se poursuivent.
  • Mars 2023 : Le groupe de travail confirme que le Royaume-Uni peut se conformer à toutes les dispositions du PTPGP ; la Commission accepte d’autoriser l’adhésion du Royaume-Uni.
  • Juillet 2023 : Le Royaume-Uni signe le protocole d’adhésion lors de la septième réunion de la Commission du PTPGP en Nouvelle-Zélande.

 

Quelles sont les autres économies qui souhaitent adhérer au PTPGP ?

Le PTPGP autorise l’adhésion de « tout État ou territoire douanier distinct qui est membre de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) » ou de « tout autre État ou territoire douanier distinct dont les parties peuvent convenir ».[viii] En janvier 2024, les pays et territoires ayant déposé une demande officielle sont, par ordre de date de dépôt, la Chine, Taïwan, l’Équateur, le Costa Rica, l’Uruguay et l’Ukraine. D’autres pays ont exprimé leur intérêt pour l’adhésion, notamment la Corée du Sud et la Thaïlande.[ix]


Stylized map image of China and TaiwanPoint sur : Les demandes d'adhésion au CPTPP de la République populaire de Chine et de Taïwan

La RPC

Points forts :

  • Deuxième économie mondiale, son adhésion aurait des retombées économiques importantes.
  • Elle est déjà signataire du RCEP, un autre accord de libre-échange pour l’Asie-Pacifique.
  • Elle a pris des mesures pour mieux aligner ses zones de libre-échange sur les règles du PTPGP.[x]

Défis : 

  • Elle devra encore procéder à des réformes réglementaires majeures pour adhérer aux dispositions du PTPGP.
  • Les membres actuels peuvent s’opposer à son application en raison de questions non commerciales (par exemple, les droits de la personne, la sécurité.
  • Relations tendues avec de nombreux États membres, y compris le Canada ; antécédents de militarisation du commerce.
  • La « stratégie de double circulation » de la RPC (c’est-à-dire son objectif d’autosuffisance) peut être considérée comme incompatible avec un accord de libre-échange.[xi]

Taïwan

Points forts :

  • L’île a modifié sa législation afin d’adhérer aux dispositions du PTPGP.[xii]
  • L’économie est centrée sur de nombreux secteurs critiques (par exemple les semi-conducteurs), ce qui en fait un membre potentiel stratégique.
  • Taïwan est déjà membre de l’APEC et de l’OMC ; un précédent a déjà été créé quant à sa capacité à adhérer en tant qu’État litigieux.

Défis : 

  • Les États membres, en particulier certains membres de l’ANASE, pourraient ne pas vouloir compromettre leurs relations économiques avec la RPC en autorisant l’adhésion de Taïwan.

Liens pertinents :


Références : 

[i] La Presse Canadienne. « U.K. agrees to join Pacific trade pact in post-Brexit deal. » CBC. 30 mars 2023. https://www.cbc.ca/amp/1.6796967

[iii] La demande de Taïwan est présentée sous le nom de « Territoire douanier distinct de Taïwan, Penghu, Kinmen et Matsu ».

[iv] Ministère du commerce de la République populaire de Chine. « MOFCOM Regular Press Conference (May 25, 2023). » 26 mai 2023. http://english.mofcom.gov.cn/article/newsrelease/press/202306/20230603413748.shtml ; Tillett, Andrew. « Taiwan asks Australia to back bid to join trans-Pacific trade deal. » Financial Review. 2 octobre 2023. https://www.afr.com/politics/federal/taiwan-asks-australia-to-back-bid-to-join-trans-pacific-trade-deal-20230929-p5e8p7.  

[v] Gouvernement du Canada. « La ministre Ng fait progresser la coopération en matière de commerce, d’investissement et de résilience des chaînes d’approvisionnement dans la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique » 16 novembre 2023. https://www.canada.ca/fr/affaires-mondiales/nouvelles/2023/11/la-ministre-ng-fait-progresser-la-cooperation-en-matiere-de-commerce-dinvestissement-et-de-resilience-des-chaines-dapprovisionnement-dans-la-region.html

[vi] McGregor, Janyce. « As major Pacific summit wraps, Canada is sidelined on a new U.S.-led trade initiative. » CBC. 18 novembre 2023. https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/apec-summit-canada-ipec-us-1.7032888

[vii] Gouvernement du Canada. « Processus d’adhésion à l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP). » 19 janvier 2019. https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/cptpp-ptpgp/accession_process-processus_adhesion.aspx?lang=fra.

[viii] Gouvernement du Canada. « Texte du PTP consolidé – Chapitre 30 – Dispositions finales » 7 décembre 2016. https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/tpp-ptp/text-texte/30.aspx?lang=fra. 

[ix]Schott, Jeffrey J. « Which countries are in the CPTPP and RCEP trade agreements and which want in? » Peterson Institute for International Economics. 27 juillet 2023. https://www.piie.com/research/piie-charts/which-countries-are-cptpp-and-rcep-trade-agreements-and-which-want

[x] Xinhua. « China moves to align with CPTPP rules through FTZ reforms. » 1 juillet 2023. https://english.www.gov.cn/news/202307/01/content_WS649f5e87c6d0868f4e8dd65c.html.

[xi] Stephens, Hugh, et Kucharski, Jeff. « Les candidatures de la Chine et Taïwan au PTPGP : Enjeux et implications. » Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada. https://www.asiapacific.ca/fr/publication/cptpp-bids-of-china-and-taiwan-issues-and-implications 

[xii] Ibid. 

Chloe Yeung

Chloe Yeung est chercheuse-boursière au sein de l’équipe de la Grande Chine de la Fondation Asie-Pacifique du Canada. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en affaires mondiales de la Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy de l'Université de Toronto et d'un baccalauréat ès arts et sciences de l'University College London (UCL). Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent les relations Canada-Chine, le commerce et le développement durables et l'égalité des sexes.

Briefing Note: Canada’s Public Inquiry into Foreign Interference in Federal Electoral Processes and Democratic Institutions

Cargo container stack

Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) Fact Sheet

What is the CPTPP?

The CPTPP is a free trade agreement (FTA) that primarily consists of countries in the Indo-Pacific. Signed in March 2018, its 11 members include Canada, Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam. Together, these economies encompass more than 15 per cent of global GDP. Canada is the 2024 Chair of the Commission of the CPTPP, the bloc’s decision-making body.

In July 2023, the U.K. became the first non-founding country to join the CPTPP. The move comes as the U.K. aims to bolster its economy and build post-Brexit ties with “a dynamic and growing group of Pacific economies,” according to British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak.[i] The trade agreement will enter into force for the U.K., its Crown Dependencies and overseas territories, once all current member states complete their respective ratification processes, which will likely take place in the second half of 2024. 

The U.S. was initially intended to be part of the CPTPP before the Trump Administration withdrew the U.S. signature in 2017. 

What does the CPTPP cover?

The CPTPP is a “high standards” trade pact that aims to facilitate economic co-operation between its parties.[ii] It covers virtually all aspects of the economy, including investment and trade in goods and services. The primary aim of the trade agreement is to create consistent standards amongst all signatories, including in government procurement, customs regulations, intellectual property, rules of origin, labour rights, labour mobility, environmental protection, and inclusive trade. In being a part of the CPTPP, Canada helps ensure that Canadians are able to effectively compete in the Indo-Pacific and conduct business in an environment that is stable and transparent.

What is the CPTPP Commission?

The Commission is the decision-making body within the CPTPP. It consists of government representatives from each member economy and is chaired successively by each party. The Commission’s responsibilities include considering any proposals, amendments, or modifications to the agreement and reviewing membership applications from non-signatory countries. Canada will chair the Eighth Commission Meeting of the CPTPP in 2024.

What are Canada’s responsibilities and priorities as Chair?

The Chair’s primary duties are to host the Commission meeting, provide administrative support, and notify all relevant bodies of any decisions made by the Commission. In 2024, Ottawa will also be tasked with welcoming the pact’s newest member, the U.K., and handling the delicate issue of China and Taiwan’s[iii] applications to accede to the CPTPP. 

At the time of publication, an Accession Working Group – the body in charge of negotiating an aspirant economy’s accession bid – had not been created for either China or Taiwan. However, both applicants have been vocal about commencing the negotiating process.[iv]

In addition, Canada’s trade minister Mary Ng has identified leading with Canadian values, expanding Canada’s geopolitical influence, and ensuring that the CPTPP reaches its full potential as priorities for the year.[v] Ng also hopes to support small, Indigenous, and women-led businesses during Canada’s tenure as Chair.[vi]

The previous year, at the Seventh Commission Meeting of the CPTPP hosted by New Zealand, the Commission welcomed the entry into force of the trade agreement for Chile and Brunei, and signed the U.K.’s Protocol of Accession.

How does accession to the CPTPP work?

Application: To join the CPTPP, applicants must formally notify New Zealand, the depositary of the treaty, of their request to commence accession negotiations. The applicant is also encouraged to notify all other CPTPP signatories informally. The CPTPP Commission will begin the accession process “within a reasonable period of time” after the request has been accepted.[vii]

Negotiation: The Commission will establish an Accession Working Group comprised of government representatives from each party. The aspirant economy must demonstrate to the working group that it is capable of complying with the provisions of the CPTPP. 

This includes identifying any changes it must make to its domestic laws and regulations to ensure compliance. Once the negotiations are complete, the working group will submit a report to the Commission outlining the terms and conditions of the applicant’s accession.

Approval: The Commission will determine unanimously whether to approve the applicant’s terms and conditions. If approved, the applicant will have six months to complete the reforms necessary for compliance with the trade agreement and formally sign the CPTPP with the depository, New Zealand.

Ratification: Once the aspirant economy has signed the CPTPP, each member state must undergo their respective ratification processes before the trade agreement enters into effect for the applicant.

What was the U.K.’s accession process?

  • February 2021: The U.K. submits its accession application.
  • June 2021: The CPTPP Commission commences the accession process. 
  • September 2021: The Accession Working Group (AWG) for the U.K. meets for the first time. Japan serves as the group chair, while Australia and Singapore serve as vice-chairs.
  • February 2022: The AWG concludes that the U.K. can comply with most of the obligations in the CPTPP, but some areas need further clarification; negotiations continue. 
  • March 2023: The AWG confirms that the U.K. can comply with all CPTPP provisions; the Commission agrees to allow the U.K. to join.
  • July 2023: The U.K. signs the Protocol of Accession at the Seventh Commission Meeting of the CPTPP in New Zealand.

What other economies are looking to join the CPTPP?

The CPTPP allows the accession of “any State or separate customs territory that is a member of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)” or “any other State or separate customs territory as the Parties may agree.”[viii] As of January 2024, the countries and territories that have formally applied are, in order of submission date, China, Taiwan, Ecuador, Costa Rica, Uruguay, and Ukraine. Other countries that have expressed interest in joining include South Korea and Thailand.[ix]


Stylized map image of China and TaiwanSpotlight: The CPTPP Applications of the People's Republic of China and Taiwan

The PRC

Strengths:

  • The world’s second-largest economy; its ascension would have significant economic benefits.
  • Already a signatory to the RCEP, another Asia Pacific FTA.
  • Has taken steps to better align its free trade zones with CPTPP rules.[x]

Challenges: 

  • Will still need major regulatory reforms to adhere to CPTPP provisions.
  • Existing members may oppose its application due to non-trade issues (e.g. human rights, security).
  • Has strained relations with many member states, including Canada; has a history of weaponizing trade.
  • The PRC’s “dual-circulation strategy” (i.e. its goal to become self-sufficient) may be viewed as incompatible with an FTA.[xi]

Taiwan

Strengths:

  • Has undergone legislative change to adhere to CPTPP provisions.[xii]
  • Economy centres around many critical sectors (e.g. semiconductors), making it a strategic potential member.
  • Is already a member of APEC and the WTO; a precedent has already been set regarding its ability to join as a contentious state.

Challenges: 

  • Member states, particularly some ASEAN members, may not want to jeopardize economic relations with the PRC by allowing Taiwan to join.

Relevant Links:


Endnotes: 

[i] The Canadian Press. “U.K. agrees to join Pacific trade pact in post-Brexit deal.” CBC. March 30, 2023. https://www.cbc.ca/amp/1.6796967

[iii] Taiwan’s application is submitted under the name of “The Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu.”

[iv] Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China. “MOFCOM Regular Press Conference (May 25, 2023).” May 26, 2023. http://english.mofcom.gov.cn/article/newsrelease/press/202306/20230603413748.shtml; Tillett, Andrew. “Taiwan asks Australia to back bid to join trans-Pacific trade deal.” Financial Review. October 2, 2023. https://www.afr.com/politics/federal/taiwan-asks-australia-to-back-bid-to-join-trans-pacific-trade-deal-20230929-p5e8p7. 

[v] Government of Canada. “Minister Ng advances cooperation on trade, investment and supply-chain resilience in the Asia-Pacific Region.” November 16, 2023. https://www.canada.ca/en/global-affairs/news/2023/11/minister-ng-advances-cooperation-on-trade-investment-and-supply-chain-resilience-in-the-asia-pacific-region.html.

[vi] McGregor, Janyce. “As major Pacific summit wraps, Canada is sidelined on a new U.S.-led trade initiative.” CBC. November 18, 2023. https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/apec-summit-canada-ipec-us-1.7032888

[vii] Government of Canada. “Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) – Accession Process.” January 19, 2019. https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/cptpp-ptpgp/accession_process-processus_adhesion.aspx?lang=eng.

[viii] Government of Canada. “Consolidated TPP Text – Chapter 30 – Final Provisions.” December 7, 2016. https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/tpp-ptp/text-texte/30.aspx?lang=eng. 

[ix] Schott, Jeffrey J. “Which countries are in the CPTPP and RCEP trade agreements and which want in?” Peterson Institute for International Economics. July 27, 2023. https://www.piie.com/research/piie-charts/which-countries-are-cptpp-and-rcep-trade-agreements-and-which-want

[x] Xinhua. “China moves to align with CPTPP rules through FTZ reforms.” July 1, 2023. https://english.www.gov.cn/news/202307/01/content_WS649f5e87c6d0868f4e8dd65c.html.

[xi] Stephens, Hugh, & Kucharski, Jeff. “The CPTPP Bids of China and Taiwan: Issues and Implications.” Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada. https://www.asiapacific.ca/publication/cptpp-bids-of-china-and-taiwan-issues-and-implications 

[xii] Ibid. 

Chloe Yeung

Chloe Yeung is a Junior Research Scholar with the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada’s Greater China Team. She holds a Master of Global Affairs from the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto, and a Bachelor of Arts and Sciences from University College London (UCL). Her research interests include Canada-China relations, sustainable trade and development, and gender equality.

Briefing Note: Canada’s Public Inquiry into Foreign Interference in Federal Electoral Processes and Democratic Institutions